At this stage in my research I have been to so many exhibits and museums that I struggle to name them at at seven in the morning local time. I am beginning to be able to see the very DNA of museums. Even the places that I have gone to for fun have been analyzed in some way. After seeing so much and taking in so many pieces of evidence, it can become overwhelming. 

Fortunately, I have learned over the years that at some point you have to take a break. This weekend I was able to fulfill a wish and visit Old Trafford Stadium in Manchester.  It was a very nerdy and fun day out that happened at just the right time. I was able to forget my work and my project for a bit. Now as a new week begins, I can see things from a fresh perspective. I actually started the week early by traveling out to Boston Manor House on Sunday. However, I could feel that the break had rejuvenated my ability to work and to think clearly. 

The next step is a massive offload of information in the next few days. I have to go through notes and reflections that I have already written. I will analyze what information I have and seek to understand what I am missing.  I plan to post most of my evaluations on the website during this time and begin to move towards drafting a Master's Thesis Proposal next week. It is insane to think that I have around ten days left here. It has all gone by so quickly. I would like for it to slow down, but at the same time, I can't wait for what is next. 
Kristen
7/15/2013 04:46:50 am

Wes: I completely understand the information overload. You look at all the material you have gathered and wonder how in the world can I get through all this?? Taking breaks is a wonderful way to relieve that overwhelming feeling and we all could take a lesson from your example (myself most of all!). Take deep breaths and knowing you the site will be fantastic. Can't wait to hear about your trip this fall!

Reply
7/15/2013 09:40:39 pm

You can do it! Keep taking moments here and there to get away from your work. It really does help.

Reply



Leave a Reply.