I had planned on Tuesday to visit some smaller house museums, only to find that most of them only open Wednesday to Sunday. This forced me to reevaluate my plan and to look for some books to read at the British Library. I found one titled "Modern Museum Management"by S.P. Gupta and Mohit Srivastava. It was the best guide book for what I am doing here. I rapidly started taking notes. I wanted to copy the entire thing, but I limited myself to the information that  applies to what I am doing now. I will, however, be purchasing this book when I get home. 

The most helpful thing about the book was that it provided the terms that I need to explain my evaluations. That may not seem like much, but it essentially translated the professional language of museum management for me. I have already developed an evaluation framework based off of the notes that I have taken. It was a happy accident that cleared away some of the clouds for me. 

That day also gave me an opportunity to go through the British Library's galleries which I have added to my experience under the project tabs. These were good exhibits to view because the show the differences between permanent and temporary displays. So, in the end, just because the research does not go how you planned it, let it go naturally. Who knows what you might discover?
7/13/2013 01:24:01 am

That book sounds like a great resource - and I really like the section of your website re: the British Museum - great work!

Reply



Leave a Reply.